Surf Into Summer Day 4 Recap

Local Motion Surf Into Summer Presented by Vissla

Ala Moana Bowls, Honolulu, Hawaii

25 May, 2015

Iconic south shore surf comp comes to a close on Memorial Day

25 May, 2015 – Honolulu – After four days of solid surf, the Local Motion Surf Into Summer ended today at Ala Moana Bowls, with nine champions taking home titles and trophies. Clean conditions in the 3 to 4 foot range graced the lineup for all four consecutive days of the event, offering nice conditions and highly contestable surf for all the competitors. Friday and Sunday saw the WSL QS1,000 pro comp take to the water while the amateur divisions were held Saturday and today.

The finals saw a variety of divisions including the Menehune Shortboard, Boys Shortboard, Jr. Men Shortboard, Mens Shortboard, Men Longboard Open, Girls Shortboard 17 & Under, Womens Shortboard 17 & Over, Masters Shortboard 25-34 and Sr. Mens Shortboard 35 & Over.

Taking home the Jr. Men Final was Honolulu’s Kaulana Apo, who displayed incredible skill and competitive savvy to ultimately take home the win. The Final saw a close match up amongst some of the state’s best amateur surfers including Cody Young, who took second place and Noa Mizuno, who finished third. Shayden Pacarro, Kona Oliveira and Kelson Lau were also in the 6-man final and placed 4th, 5th and 6th respectively.

In the Girls Shortboard 17 & Under Final, Kailua’s Brisa Hennessy battled it out against 5 other top competitors in a fierce heat. Congratulations on the win Brisa, and to Julie Nishimoto for taking 2nd and Emily Nishimoto on 3rd. Zoe McDougall, Kelis Kaleopa‘a and Sara Wakita took home 4th, 5th and 6th place respectively and surfed with grace and style- a fine display of the future of womens surfing.

Congratulations to all the athletes and a big mahalo to the sponsors who helped make this year another successful Local Motion Surf Into Summer event for both amateur and professional surfers. Sponsors included VISSLA, D’Blanc, Wade Tokoro, Skull Candy, Waiola, Vertra and Freesurf. After 31 years of tradition, the contest still remains true to its roots by providing a good venue for regional athletes to compete for value points and bragging rights.



FINAL RESULTS – surfers listed in order of 1st through 6th.

 Menehune S.B. – Luke Swanson; Isaiah Ingbino Francisco; Kai Partin; Lohe Laanui; Shiloh Tunneberg

 Boys S.B. – Tony Nunes; Robert Grilho III; Dylan Franzmann; Wolf Wetheimer; Makani Walker; Gavin Hogan

Jr. Mens S.B. – Kaulana Apo; Cody Young; Noa Mizuno; Shayden Pacarro; Kona Oliveira; Kelson Lau

Mens S.B. – Justin Silva; Taoa Pou; Keola Carreira; Anthony O’brien; Zach Bucolo; Kena Gugudan

Mens L.B. – La‘akea Davis; Wesley Moore; Maui Zack; Fritz Belmoro; Keoni Young; Dusty Fernandez

Girls S.B. 17 & Under – Brisa Hennessy; Julie Nishimoto; Emily Nishimoto; Zoe McDougall; Kelis Kaleopa‘a; Sara Wakita

Womens S.B. 17 & Over – Missy Valdez; Terry Lum; Tiffany Peterson; Olivia Lachenauer; Anathena Tuppein; Mari Hall

Master S.B. 25-34 – Weston Hori; Derek Wong; Kolea Fukumitsu; Sudama Ranson; Alex King; Heath Thompson

Sr. Mens S.B. 35 & Over – Aaron Witt; Derek Lyon Wolfe; Gregg Nakamura; Jarius Cannon; Isaiah Walker; Reid Kawamae


Official Press Release: Lauren Rolland / Manulele

Photo: Brawnson Adams / Local Motion